Skip to content

Risk Digest

Judge denies bond for Darlington County hit-and-run suspect

A Darlington County magistrate judge denied bond on Aug. 2, 2026, for Travis Timmons, 24, the suspect in the fatal East Billy Farrow Highway hit-and-run that killed a 15-year-old bicyclist. This record maps the reported hearing factors and custody status, and flags the case reported-not-confirmed as of Aug. 3, 2026, with the next verification steps for pretrial-risk tracking.

By Editorial TeamUpdated Aug 2, 2026Verified Aug 3, 2026
REPORTED-NOT-CONFIRMED
Jurisdiction
South Carolina, United States
Court
Darlington County Magistrate Court
AI tool named
No AI tool named
Ruling date
Aug 2, 2026
Source document
View primary court order ↗
Last verified
Aug 3, 2026

Lex Machina Review is an independent risk-tracking and reference resource. Nothing on this site is legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Every record is reviewed against primary sources but may not reflect the most current status of a matter — always verify directly against the cited court order, rule text, or a licensed attorney before relying on it.

Companion explanation — secondary to the source document above

Risk Digest status, current as of Aug. 3, 2026: WPDE reported that a Darlington County magistrate judge denied bond on Aug. 2 for Travis Timmons, 24, the suspect in the fatal East Billy Farrow Highway hit-and-run. As of this check, no public bond order, judge name, or detention-center booking record has been located to independently confirm the ruling as a primary court record. For anyone searching “judge denies bond Darlington County hit and run suspect,” that distinction matters: the denial is a material reported pretrial-risk signal, but it is not yet a court-confirmed docket event.

Empty courtroom bench with judge's chair and gavel

WPDE’s bond-hearing report says the magistrate denied bond Sunday afternoon after South Carolina Highway Patrol troopers cited an outstanding Georgia traffic warrant, active South Carolina probation, and Timmons’s residency history across Darlington County, Horry County, and Georgia. The same report says Timmons told the court he lives with his grandmother in Darlington County and had lived in those three places over the past five years. WPDE also reported that he was being held at the W. Glenn Campbell Detention Center and that the SCHP investigation was ongoing.[1]

The crash context is narrower but necessary. WPDE, citing Master Trooper Hannah Davidson, reported that the collision happened around 9:02 p.m. on Aug. 1 on East Billy Farrow Highway; three juveniles were riding bicycles, two were struck, a 15-year-old bicyclist died, and his 15-year-old first cousin remained hospitalized. WPDE further reported that Jennifer Boyer, the victim’s mother, asked the court to deny bond, and that grandfather James Boyer attended the hearing.[2]

What is reported, and what is not yet confirmed

The cleanest version of the record is not the longest one. It is this: WPDE reported a bond denial by an unnamed Darlington County magistrate judge on Aug. 2, 2026, for Travis Timmons in connection with the Aug. 1 fatal hit-and-run on East Billy Farrow Highway. The reported grounds are specific enough to evaluate under South Carolina bond principles. The public record located so far is not specific enough to treat the bond denial as independently confirmed.

ItemCurrent status as of Aug. 3, 2026
Bond denialReported by WPDE; no public bond order located
JudgeReported as a Darlington County magistrate judge; name not reported
CustodyWPDE reports Timmons held at W. Glenn Campbell Detention Center; booking record not independently located
Reported hearing groundsGeorgia traffic warrant, active South Carolina probation, residency history across Darlington, Horry, and Georgia
Exact chargesNot specified in the cited coverage
Identification methodNot publicly reported in the cited materials

That table is deliberately conservative. A television report may accurately describe what happened in the courtroom and still leave a later researcher without the paper needed for a docket-backed risk entry. The missing items here are not trivia. A bond order, booking record, or docket entry would tell a lawyer or records editor exactly what the court did, on what case number, and whether any later proceeding has changed the custody posture.

How the reported hearing factors map onto South Carolina bond law

South Carolina’s bond statute directs courts to consider release conditions in light of appearance in court and community safety. Section 17-15-30 includes factors bearing on flight risk and danger, including the nature and circumstances of the offense, family ties, employment, financial resources, character and mental condition, length of residence in the community, criminal record, record of appearance at court proceedings, and whether the person was already on release pending another proceeding.[3]

The WPDE-reported grounds fit that statutory vocabulary, but the fit should not be overstated. An outstanding Georgia traffic warrant is relevant to appearance-risk analysis because it points to an unresolved out-of-state court obligation. Active South Carolina probation is relevant because it means the defendant was already under criminal-justice supervision when the alleged hit-and-run occurred. A residency history split among Darlington County, Horry County, and Georgia is relevant because courts commonly look at length and stability of community residence when deciding whether conditions short of detention will reasonably assure appearance.

Those are analytical connections, not a quotation from a bond order. The public materials do not show the magistrate’s written findings, do not identify the precise charges before the court, and do not state whether the judge framed the ruling primarily as flight risk, danger, or both. The reported facts are strong enough to explain why a no-bond result is legally recognizable. They are not enough to say exactly what findings the judge made.

The victim-impact portion of the hearing belongs in the record for a different reason. Jennifer Boyer’s request that the court deny bond does not, by itself, establish a statutory factor or decide the release question. It does show what a sterile custody entry can hide: the pretrial-risk decision was made one day after a 15-year-old bicyclist was killed and while another 15-year-old was still hospitalized. That context should travel with the record, so long as it does not substitute emotion for the legal basis of detention.

The likely charge should stay labeled as likely

The cited coverage does not specify the exact charges against Timmons. Given the reported facts, South Carolina’s leaving-the-scene statute is the likely statutory neighborhood, but that is not the same thing as a confirmed charge. Section 56-5-1210 addresses duties of a driver involved in an accident resulting in injury or death and includes felony treatment where death results; that penalty language should be re-verified against current official text before anyone uses it in a brief or charging summary.[4]

For this entry, the safer phrasing is: “likely leaving-the-scene-with-death charge, unconfirmed.” If a later booking sheet, warrant, indictment, or court docket names the charge, the label can be removed or corrected. Until then, a statutory match is only a map, not the territory.

Why the magistrate-court posture is not the end of the custody story

A magistrate bond denial is important, especially in the first days after a fatal crash, but it should not be read as the last possible word on pretrial release. South Carolina law provides a route for later review: Section 17-15-55 allows a person charged with a noncapital offense who has been denied bond by a magistrate or municipal judge to apply to a circuit court judge for release on bond.[3]

That does not mean Timmons will seek reconsideration, or that a circuit judge would grant it. It means the correct tracking question after a magistrate denial is not simply “bond denied?” The next question is whether a circuit-court bond motion, bond order, amended charge, probation proceeding, or detention record changes the pretrial posture.

The magistrate-bond mechanics also should be checked against current law before being treated as a procedural timeline. Justia’s publication of Section 22-5-510 describes magistrate responsibilities for bond hearings, but for a live matter, the usable record still comes from the court file, detention-center entry, and any later circuit-court action.[5]

Verification path for this record

The next verification work is ordinary, and that is the point. A reported bond denial becomes a stronger risk record when the custody and court sources line up behind it. Until then, the correct status is reported-not-confirmed.

  • Check W. Glenn Campbell Detention Center records for a booking entry, custody status, charge description, bond amount or no-bond notation, booking date, and case identifiers.
  • Check South Carolina court dockets for warrants, initial appearances, bond orders, later bond motions, and any transfer from magistrate-level proceedings to higher court.
  • Track any circuit-court request for bond review under Section 17-15-55, because that would be the next procedural marker after a magistrate denial.
  • Re-verify statutory text before relying on penalty language, especially if citing Justia-linked versions of Sections 56-5-1210 or 22-5-510 in a legal memorandum.
  • Do not add an identification-method narrative unless a public record or reliable report says how Timmons was identified. No cited source says automated license plate reader data, video analytics, or any similar tool was involved.

This is also where a records file should be more careful than a headline. A KM file that says “bond denied” without a source flag may look efficient until someone asks whether the statement came from a signed order, a detention record, or a news account of a hearing. For comparison with the site’s procedural-record format, see the Risk Digest handling of the ICE detention algorithm FOIA case and the heatwave attribution litigation docket. The same discipline applies here: separate the public report from the court record, then update when the primary source appears.

Present usability of the Aug. 2 bond denial

As of Aug. 3, 2026, the Aug. 2 Darlington County bond denial for Travis Timmons is usable as a reported pretrial-risk signal. The reported grounds—an outstanding Georgia traffic warrant, active South Carolina probation, and a multi-place residency history—align with recognizable South Carolina bond factors concerning appearance risk and public safety. The fatal-crash context, including the death of a 15-year-old bicyclist and the hospitalization of his cousin, explains why the hearing carried immediate weight for the family and the court.

It is not yet usable as a primary-source-confirmed bond outcome. The next update should wait for one of four things: a detention-center booking or custody record, a court docket entry, a bond order, or a later circuit-court action. Until one of those appears, the record remains: reported bond denied, Darlington County magistrate court, last checked Aug. 3, 2026.

References

  1. Judge denies bond for suspect in deadly Darlington County hit-and-run, WPDE, Aug. 2, 2026.
  2. Updates on juvenile killed in bicycle crash in Darlington Co., WPDE, Aug. 2, 2026.
  3. Title 17 - Criminal Procedures, Chapter 15 - Bail And Recognizances, South Carolina Legislature.
  4. 2024 South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 56, Chapter 5, Section 56-5-1210, Justia.
  5. 2024 South Carolina Code of Laws, Title 22, Chapter 5, Section 22-5-510, Justia.

Report a correction or tip

Spotted an outdated figure, a misstated fact, or a ruling this case record should reflect? Public comments are disabled for this content given the professional cost of a misreported case outcome, penalty amount, or rule text — use the structured correction channel instead.

Report a correction or tip for this record →